HELP!!! Carb/Idle/Non Running Issue....

Looking for some mechanical advice or sharing your own tales of the workshop wonder.

Moderator: VF1000R

5 posts Page 1 of 1
JamesIke

Hello All!

Have had my 85 for 2 weeks now. Pulled carbs 4 times, and cleaned TWICE! I am a pro at R&R on the carbs.. lol.

A brief history...
1985 VF1000r, CA model with K&N air filter and Hindle Stealth 4 into 1 exhaust, PO left stock jetting at 122 main and 38 idle, adjustment screws out 2.5 turns. The owner replaced the fuel lines,but the starter needed rebuilt and he thought it was more serious, his loss, my gain.. hee hee :) so he never got it running again and it sat in his garage for 6 years without starting. Not sure if he drained the float bowls or used any fuel stabilizer, but they weren't that bad inside when I took them apart. I didn't do a FULL cleaning with removing any plastic or rubber parts and dipping the carbs in a bucket of cleaner,can't afford to buy new gasket kits if anything is bad or i ruin something. So I used plenty of brake cleaner on the carbs and like I said, can see light through the small hole on the pilot jet. There was some varnish on the needles, and I cleaned any stuff I could see. I also cleaned the Tank cap vent hole, (had that issue on my XL) and even started the bike with the starter fluid and the tank open, no luck.

I can get the bike started on starter fluid but not without, will not stay running. Removed fuel pump and went with gravity feed like Jamie suggested, fuel getting to carbs (fuel drains when i open the bowl drain). When I pulled the carbs and cleaned them the second time, I double checked the pilot jets and made sure I could see light through them and could.
Do I need to go for the more drastic route and dull the FULL POP carb clean and dunk and buy the rebuild kit? I also intend on getting a Factory jet kit for it as well as soon as I become gainfully employed again.